Ocean Futures Forum

Oceanology International Presents

  • The Ocean Futures Forum in a 3 Part Webinar Series:

    This 3 part webinar series will focus on exploring the science and technology needs of the future Blue Economy. Leading speakers from industry, academia and government will give their perspectives on emerging uses of the ocean and ocean resources and the challenges of delivering a growing ocean economy, while protecting the ocean environment.

    Part 1: Delivering the Blue Economy and UN Sustainable Development Goals

    Wednesday 7th October
    2.00pm(BST), 3.00pm(CET), 9.00am(EST)
    (90 mins)

    Moderator:
    Ralph Rayner, President, Society of Underwater Technology

    Opening Keynote

    Claire Jolly, Head of Unit, Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

    Environmental implications of developments in the ocean economy

    Mark Spalding, President, The Ocean Foundation
    Philomène Verlaan, Trustee/Director Advisory Committee on Protection of the Sea

    The Role of Science in Delivering the UN Sustainable Development Goals

    Martin Visbeck, President of Oceanographic Society

    Panel Questions and Audience Q&A


    Register now

    Part 2: Burgeoning Industries for Europe, Sector Perspectives: Where are we heading?

    November TBC
    2.00pm(BST), 3.00pm(CET), 9.00am(EST)

    Programme to be confirmed..

    Part 3: Burgeoning Industries for The Americas, Sector Perspectives: Where are we heading?

    January 27th
    2.00pm(BST), 3.00pm(CET), 9.00am(EST)

    Programme to be confirmed..

In partnership with

Endorsing Associations